It may seem obvious when a batter is hit by a pitch and awarded first base, but there are some cases where a base may not be awarded. 1) If the ball touches the batter as the batter swings at the ball. 2) The ball touches the batter in the strike zone. 3) If the batter makes no attempt to get out of the way of the ball. 4) If the ball hits the bat in the act of swinging and then touches the batter.
When a Batter Should be Awarded First Base
In addition to a batter being hit out of the strike zone while attempting to get out of the way, there are a couple of misconceptions about being hit by the pitch where people will think the batter should not be awarded first and in fact they should be. 1) The hand is not part of the bat. 2) A pitched ball that hits the batter after bouncing is not a dead ball. 3) A pitched ball that touches the players clothing but not the player. 4) A pitched ball hits a batter and then hits the bat.
Q: Fielder's Balk
A: Fielder's Balk - There is none!!! Rule 4.03 states the following:
4.03 - When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory.
(a) The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may leave his position at any time to catch a pitch or make a play except that when the batter is being given an intentional base on balls, the catcher must stand with both feet within the lines of the catcher's box until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. PENALTY: Balk.
A balk is the penalty for 4.03(a), not 4.03 in general.
When the umpire sees such a infraction, he/she should instruct the player of the infraction to move into fair territory.